Home » Prairie Spirit Trail News » In The News » 2015 Trail Town Challenge Champion: Iola

2015 Trail Town Challenge Champion: Iola

posted in: In The News 0

Each year, riders across the nation participate in the National Bike Challenge, logging their miles from May 1 through September 30. Cities along the Prairie Spirit Trail compete in the informal “Trail Town Challenge”.


Here are the results for 2015:

  1. Iola: 84 riders, 18888 miles
  2. Garnett: 4 riders, 1441 miles
  3. Ottawa: 6 riders, 1164 miles
  4. Colony: 0 riders
  5. Princeton: 0 riders
  6. Richmond: 0 riders
  7. Welda: 0 riders

Obviously, Iola ran away with the competition this year. Hope to see it a little more competitive in coming years!

Along the Southwind Rail Trail, Iola also bested Humboldt (25 riders, 7886 miles).

Along the Flint Hills Nature Trail, Ottawa took the crown over Pomona (1 rider, 638 miles), Osawatomie (2 riders, 519 miles), and Council Grove (2 riders, 128 miles). There were no riders from Admire, Allen, Bushong, Herington, Osage City, Rantoul, or Vassar.

Congrats to Iola for winning the 2015 Trail Town Challenge!

Follow Randy Rasa:
Randy runs Bike Prairie Spirit, as well as the Kansas Cyclist web site, which is the web's premier Kansas cycling information site, featuring authoritative guides to Kansas cycling clubs, bike shops, organized bike rides, touring, trails, and much more.
Comments are closed.